Shiprock, located in Northwestern New Mexico near the Four Corners area. 

The dramatic landscape of the Southwest in and around the sprawling Navajo Reservation is as important to my novels, Key Witness and Abducted Innocence, as the two main characters, Emily and Abe. To the Navajo people, the mountains, mesas, waters, and land are sacred, as are the animals and plants that live there.


According to Navajo legends, there are six sacred mountains: Mount Blanca in the East; Mount Taylor in the South; The San Francisco Peaks in the West; Mount Hesperus in the North; Huerfano Mesa; and Gobernador Knob. The Navahos belief is that their Creator placed them on the land between these sacred mountains. All play a significant role in the creation stories. It is said that each mountain is a holy person dressed in various outfits. Their configurations and colors help define their role in the history of the Dinetah or Navajo people. Here are the six sacred mountains and their Navajo meaning:

Mount Blanca (Tsisnaasjini’ – Dawn or White Shell Mountain)


Mount Taylor (Tsoodzil – Blue Bead or Turquoise Mountain)

Published by

Sandra Bolton

Sandra Bolton is the author of two novels: A Cipher in the Sand and Key Witness, A Southwest Mystery. She lives in Raton, New Mexico with her big black dog, Sam and fat cat, Fidel. Writing is her passion, along with hiking, gardening, cooking, eating and laughing whenever possible. Her goal in life is to do no harm to any living thing or to our beautiful earth.